Clark County Traffic Violations Bureau

(812) 285-6320 / (812) 285-6321 / (812) 285-6399 www.clarkcountyclerk.us

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm

The Court has established the following schedule for payment of traffic violations.

Moving Violations

All Speeding Violations	\$171.00
All Other Moving Violations	\$171.00

Non-Moving Violations

Expired Plates, Expired Driver's License, Parking In a	a Handicap Zone
& Equipment Violations	\$170.00
Open Container Violation	\$170.00
Child Restraint Violation	
1st Offense Show proof of compliance	
2nd Offense	\$25.00
Seat Belt Violation	\$25.00
Driving While Suspended (Infraction)	\$171.00
Commercial Truck Violations	\$171.00
All Over Weight	\$171.00

You will only pay a maximum fine of \$35.00 for each additional Violation received during the same incident. If the additional Violation is a Seat Belt Violation, you will only pay a maximum fine of \$25.00.

The State of Indiana, through the Clark County Prosecuting Attorney, files the traffic citation with the Court. All proceedings are conducted in accordance with the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure.

Common Questions

1. Do I have to appear in Court?

No. **Only** if you want to contest your citation, you must appear in Court on the appearance date and time indicated on your citation. You may also have an attorney file a written response by that date.

2. What happens if I want to go to Court but I cannot make it on the day given?

You may be granted a new court day for a valid reason. You must contact the Traffic Violations Bureau to request a continuance.

3. I decided to admit & pay my citation. May I have more time?

Yes. You have 30 days after your first court date to make payment.

The Court does <u>not</u> issue an <u>arrest warrant</u> if you fail to appear and fail to pay within the <u>grace period</u>. NO GRACE PERIOD FOR CDL (Commercial Driver's License) OPERATORS. A CDL FINE MUST BE PAID BY YOUR COURT DATE.

4. What if the payment is not received within the 30 day grace period?

The Court will notify the Bureau of Motor Vehicles of your non-compliance and will suspend your driver's license. If you have a driver's license in another state, Indiana will notify your state and seek suspension of your driver's license in that state.

5. Can I call and explain my situation to someone?

No. If you want to contest your citation, you must do so on the Court date. **The Court and the Clerk cannot provide legal advice.**

If you decide to admit and plead guilty, you may pay your traffic citation/ticket by one of the following ways:

- 1. Online at <u>www.clarkcountyclerk.us</u> and click "pay your traffic" ticket. Follow the directions.
- 2. Mail your payment (Money Order or Cashier's Check only)
- 3. In-person at 501 E Court Ave. Jeffersonville, IN with Credit Card, Debit Card, Cash, Cashier's Check or Money Order.

NO PERSONAL OR COMPANY CHECKS.

Mail and make payments payable to:

Clark County Traffic Violations Bureau 501 East Court Avenue Jeffersonville, IN 47130



Look for this green car on our website to pay your traffic violation online.

Clark County Prosecuting Attorney Infraction Deferral Program (\$192.50)

www.clarkprosecutor.org

(Click on "INFRACTION DEFERRAL PROGRAM")

Instead of paying the \$171 traffic violation ticket, the Infraction Deferral Program is offered by the Prosecuting Attorney to allow safe drivers to maintain their good driving record. After 6 months without another traffic violation your citation will be dismissed. No convictions or "points" relating to your Citation will appear on your BMV driving record.

You are **NOT** eligible for the Infraction Deferral Program if:

- You have already paid your Citation.
- Your Citation is based upon violation of a Local Ordinance rather than a State Statute.
- You have participated in an Infraction Deferral Program within the past two (2) years.
- You are a Habitual Traffic Offender.
- You have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL).
- You have a Probationary License.
- You do not have a valid Driver's License.
- Your Citation is related to a criminal act, you are on probation for a criminal conviction, or other criminal charges are pending.

Unless extraordinary circumstances are present, Citations for Passing a School Bus and Speeding 25+ MPH Over Speed Limit are NOT subject to deferral. Citations which result from a traffic accident are NOT subject to deferral unless proof of insurance is shown. The Prosecuting Attorney has complete discretion to deny any deferral.

If you decide to participate in the Infraction Deferral Program, follow the steps below:

- 1. Get the Infraction Deferral Agreement from the Prosecutors website or in-person at the Traffic Violations Bureau.
- 2. Complete and sign the agreement and return it to the Clark County Traffic Violations Bureau. If you are an out of state resident, you must include your driving record, which is obtained from your states Bureau of Motor Vehicles. *Do not send the deferral payment.*
- 3. Your information will be reviewed by the Prosecutors office. It may take up to 2 weeks to get a response for an approval or denial.
- 4. You will be notified of your approval or denial with payment instructions. Payment may be made online, mailed or in-person.